mike higginsHey there Dapper Fit friends, its Mike, and I’m BACK!  This month I want to come to you with a fitness tip that will help you melt the fat and keep that muscled machine lean and mean.  (Well, you don’t have to be mean)  Today, I want to talk about a new phase in my nutrition that I am currently going through, called ‘carb cycling’.  I want to tell you right off the bat that this plan is NOT for everyone, just those of you who are looking to melt away fat with a solid exercise plan.
The best way to explain ‘carb cycling’ is to say that during a 7 day week, we will “cycle” our days between a high carbohydrate day and some low days.  Typically we want to keep the high days to two days, possibly three if your workouts are really intense, and the other days are low to moderate days.  A high day would consist of a carb intake of 2-2.5 grams per pound of bodyweight, and a low day would be anywhere from .75-1.25 depending on how you feel on those days.  The reason we cycle this way is so that our body is never in rhythm and is constantly guessing, which keeps our metabolism ramped up and always burning that fat away.  Its kind of like “muscle confusion”, but for our metabolism.  Here is a sample of my week with cycling based on my workouts and schedule:
  • Monday – Low
  • Tuesday – High
  • Wednesday – Low
  • Thursday  – Low/moderate
  • Friday  – Low
  • Saturday – High
  • Sunday – Low/moderate
Tweet your questions and challenges to @Mike_Higgins10 #DapperFit. Each of you should consult your physician before beginning any exercise or lifestyle change.